To Teach Her Love

As a food lover and a female, I have had a complex about my body from the time that I hit puberty and my body turned from the kickball playing, fastest runner in the class; to the soft, sturdy body of someone who could not run a mile in less than 22 minutes.

Because of this I take issue with other women, calling my baby “chunky”. Now I know 3 months old is much too young for her to start forming an opinion of her body but if it starts now, when will it end, if she stays ahead of the curve in her growth pattern will they keep calling her chunky, or will they say things like you’ve been big ever since you were a baby, you were in 9 month clothes at 4 months old.

I guess all in all what I am saying is I don’t want my daughter to travel my path, I don’t want her to hate her body for the things it can’t do like fit in to size 2 jeans and run a mile without stopping. I want her to love her body for the things it can do, like hike for miles with her steady endurance and open jars that even her daddy can’t open.

I want her self-esteem bucket to be so full that she never worries about whether she could have been a model if she had stayed anorexic or if she could have run a marathon if she had just tried a little harder. I want her to realize that everyone’s body is different and special in it’s own way, and every time I see her round little cheeks and her big blue eyes,I just wish I could imbue her with a little of the love that I have for her. So that when the mean girls strike, as I know they will, that she will be able to look at herself and say, I am wonderful and beautiful and strong and what they think does not matter to me. And if she becomes a size 2 model, I want her to have enough love inside of her that she does not look at other girls and make derisive comments about their size, weight, shape or height.

I think that is all I can really do is teach her to love, to love herself and others, so that when the hammer falls she can be kind and gentle no matter her shape and help and lift up those around her.

Leave a Reply

